Weber State Welcomes New Trustee Leadership

Weber State Welcomes New Trustee Leadership

Weber State alumna, businesswoman and civic leader Kearston Cutrubus was elected as chair of the university’s Board of Trustees at its monthly meeting on Aug. 9.

Karla Bergeson, a retired corporate legal counsel for Citigroup, was elected as vice chair. It’s the first time two women have served together in the leadership positions of the board, which advocates for the university and advises the president on issues such as budget, programs, personnel and planning.

Cutrubus, who was appointed to the Board of Trustees in 2016, and has served as vice chair since 2017, thanked the board for its confidence in her leadership.

“I’m honored and humbled to serve as chair of the Weber State University Board of Trustees,” Cutrubus said. “I look forward to working with an incredible team of trustees, WSU leadership, faculty and staff who endeavor to collaborate with the community, businesses, Hill Air Force Base, and each other, to ensure that the students and their education are the top priority.”

Cutrubus is the customer and community relations director for her family’s multiple automotive dealerships in northern Utah. She serves on various boards and committees for community organizations, including the Top of Utah Military Affairs Executive Committee, YCC (Your Community Connection), the WSU Wildcat Club Executive Board and many others. 

Cutrubus succeeds Nolan Karras, who has led the board as chair since 2016.

Ogden native, Karla Bergeson, was appointed to the board in 2017. She is the former executive vice president and deputy general counsel for Citigroup’s credit card business in the U.S., where she worked for 23 years before retiring. Throughout her career, Bergeson supported higher education in northern Utah. In 2017, she received an honorary degree from Weber State and delivered the commencement address.

Eight of the university’s 10 trustees are appointed by Utah’s governor and approved by the Utah Senate before being sworn in. Appointees are eligible to serve two four-year terms. 

Two new members are expected to join the board officially at its next meeting in September: Keith Titus, president and CEO of MarketStar, an Ogden-based global sales organization, is also a member of Weber State’s National Advisory Council. Brent Bishop is the founder of Greenbacks All-a-Dollar and co-founder of Franklin Covey. 

Other appointed members of the board include Amanda Covington, Louenda Downs, Karen Fairbanks and Donald Salazar.

Weber State student body president, Ben Ferney, and Alumni Association president Curtis Funk, which are not appointed positions, serve one- and two-year terms respectively.

Visit for more information about the Board of Trustees.


Ogden-Weber Chamber of Commerce

Founded in 1887, the Ogden-Weber Chamber of Commerce is a nonprofit organization dedicated to advancing business and community prosperity in northern Utah. 

Based in Ogden, the Chamber represents 850+ organizations in 15 cities and several unincorporated areas in Weber County.

Recent Posts

Follow Us

Meet Our Members

Sign up for our Newsletter